Best BIOS for Lenovo S205?

Today Name (@Che_kist) brought a new modded BIOS to my attention which unlocks two hidden menus named Advanced and AMD.

advanced

The most important option seems to be the UEFI Boot toggle which can hopefully solve the well-known Windows and Linux installation problems of the S205.

advanced-boot

Since I’ve been using a NoWhiteList BIOS to be able to replace the Ralink WiFi adapter with an Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200 (which is btw way better than the original), I’ve decided to combine the two versions.

So here is the new modded BIOS which disables the harware restrictions and unlocks the hidden menus:

4BCN24WW (Version 24, 17 Aug 2011) – NoWhiteList + Hidden menus

It’s tested and works perfectly.

Here are the flashing instructions:

  1. Make sure that the AC adapter is connected and close all unnecessary programs
  2. Flash BIOS using Flash.bat

To enable the hidden menus enter BIOS, go to “Configuration” and disable the setting “Hidden Page”. Save settings, reboot, and you will see the new menus.

All credits go to bios-mods members camiloml and xsmile.

Happy New Year!

Image source:
bios-mods (xsmile)

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Latsis

     /  January 13, 2015

    Yes! Ubuntu 14.04 LTS works now without problems. Even the original Ralink WiFi adapter works now apparently. Thank you!

    Reply
  2. so how cand i install this modded BIOS whitout OS?

    Reply
    • I’m afraid you can’t. You have to install Windows XP/7/8.x or run a live version of Windows to be able to flash the BIOS.

      Reply
      • It is possible, but difficult.
        You need to remove MX25L1606 chip and flash it directly. Also it is only solution in case when s205 is bricked by bios reasons(for example no place left for UEFI-notes). I have restored my s205 by this way.If you need – i can find a scheme of simple flash-plate for LPT port.

  3. hi , installed the modded bios, and i disabled the UEFI boot, but still does not boot on unbuntu.!
    Can you help?

    Reply
  4. Graham W

     /  January 19, 2015

    Hi there, how do I install modded bios for me to get ubuntu working?
    When I installed it, It was originall lenovo bios didnt see hidden bios options?

    Reply
  5. I couldn’t get hold of the Intel 6200 wifi card, but I managed to get a Intel Centrino Advanced-N + WiMAX 6250 to work. Thanks for the updated bios.

    Reply
  6. Bohus 2.0

     /  January 28, 2015

    Hi when installing Win 8.1, do I need to flash this custom, rom in order to avoid the UEFI problem a when I installed win 7 before ?

    Reply
  7. Stranger

     /  April 14, 2015

    Hello! Thank you for sharing this information. I have patched bios with software above and it worked fine: the hidden tab appeared in the bios, but i still can’t boot into installed linux distribution. Looks like that EFI/Legacy toggle has no effect at all.

    Reply
  8. Phil

     /  April 29, 2015

    Okay. Running Window 7 from a USB on my s205. What are the exact steps for updating the BIOS? Were do I download the zip file to? Will it need unzipped before running Flash.bat? Does Flash.bat need to be downloaded/created?

    Hope you can help. My intention is to install elementaryOS.

    Reply
    • Phil

       /  April 29, 2015

      Okay. I have updated the BIOS. What should I be enabling/disabling in the Advanced page of the BIOS? I am assuming that I should disable UEFI Boot and keep Legacy Boot enabled?

      Thanks. Phil.

      Reply
  9. Krebs

     /  August 2, 2015

    Have managed to install win10 but can’t get wifi to work. Currently F2 and F12 are gone which i used to boot ubuntu. After booting ubuntu wifi was working as it turned on soft switch. Please let me know in case someone will make it with ralink under win10. Thx

    Reply
  10. SDH

     /  February 28, 2016

    First, thank you for your posting. I’ve been using s205 until now, and I’m interested in bios update for s205. I want to replace my bios ver24 to this hidden-menu version and I have a question. Does this new bios require Window7 64bit and OS re-installation?
    (I’m not from English-country so plz understand my English :D)

    Reply
  11. rigo

     /  March 16, 2016

    Can you perhaps share the exact bios setup to use to be able to install and boot up into ubuntu?
    I’ve tried so many setups but the system is stucked in an endless loop at boot (about zero seconds after the lenovo screen disappears, the system is rebooting)
    the system is installed it’s on the disk but not booting.
    the guys on freenode said it’s something about uefi/efi legacy thing.
    thanks
    g

    Reply
    • Did you ever find a fix? I’ve completed my install thanks to this BIOS mod but I’m stuck in the same boot loop. It’s not a no-bootable-device error (in which case it would skip to attempting PXE boot); it’s as if it doesn’t even attempt to boot at all. Shows the F2/F12 screen, blinks black, back to that screen, repeat.

      Reply
  12. Thanks much for the custom BIOS – I’m having a helluva time getting Kali (modded Debian) Linux installed on the S205, I assume due to its early version of UEFI.

    One tip to overcome a problem I just had: when attempted to run the winflash.exe updater from a BartPI (USB bootable WinXP) instance, I’d get a “Please insert battery” pop-up every time. I didn’t find any command-line option to force the install or supress battery check, but I found that the winflash.ini file contains a line “Battery=1.” Simply setting that 1 to a 0 (zero) allowed WinFlash.exe to start.

    I now have the new hidden options in the BIOS. Thanks!

    Reply
  13. soeren

     /  July 5, 2016

    Hey thank you for this Custom-Bios! Now Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon runs flawlessly. Thanks mate!

    Reply
  1. Ubuntu:Unable to install Ubuntu 14 LTS (64bit) on Lenovo Ideapad S205 – Ubuntu Linux Questions

Leave a Reply

