Lenovo S205 (Unofficial) Windows 8.1 Drivers (2014-01-26)

Windows 8 Logo

I’ve created this post to provide you the latest Windows 8 Drivers. Since Lenovo doesn’t support Windows 8 on our device, these drivers are either taken directly from the vendors or from other Lenovo notebooks’ official support. The plan is to update this page regularly so it would function as an unofficial S205 – Windows 8 support page. I’m going to upload the drivers to Google Drive as well.

Big thx to Romagnolo1973 for his tips.

Audio

Device Download Size Version Released
AMD High Definition Audio Device See video See video See video See video
  • Source
  • Known issues
    • -

Energy Management 

It doesn’t work properly on Windows 8/8.1. Volume, brightness, enable/disable wifi or bluetooth works built-in so you shouldn’t install this.

Device Download Size Version Released
Lenovo Energy Management Download 45.3 MB 8.0.2.20 n/a
  • Source
    • Lenovo IdeaPad S205 Official Support (not available anymore)
  • Known issues
    •  OSD (on screen display notification for Fn key combinations) doesn’t work
    • Causes BSOD (?)

Card Reader

Device Download Size Version Released
Realtek RTS5139 USB 2.0 Card Reader (USB2.0-CRW) Download 11.6 MB 6.3.273.37 2014/1/22

Touchpad

Device Download Size Version Released
Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad Download 118.1 MB zip 17.0.19 n/a

Networking: LAN (Ethernet)

Device Download Size Version Released
Realtek RTL8139/810x Fast Ethernet Adapter Download 5.7 MB 8.018.0723.2013 2013/8/1

Networking: Wireless LAN

Device Download Size Version Released
Ralink RT3090 802.11n 1T1R PCI-E Wireless Network Adapter Driver Download 21.9 MB 5.0.37.0 12/24/2013
  • Source
    • Ralink (MediaTek from January, 1st, 2013.)
  • Known issues
    • -

Bluetooth

Device Download Size Version Released
Broadcom BCM2070 Bluetooth 2.1+EDR USB Device Download 92.9 MB 12.0.0.4051 (12.0.0.4300) ?

Video

Device Download Size Version Released
AMD Mobility Radeon™ HD 6300 Series Graphics (HD 6310M / 6320M)

Download(x86)

Download(x64)

103 MB / 201 MB 13.12 12/18/2013
  • Source
    • AMD
    • Contains both video and audio drivers
  • Known issues
    • -
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Romagnolo1973

     /  December 12, 2012

    an italian user (we talk about s205 in italian forum) give me the right working sound driver for win 8 (is the driver for Lenovo U300E that have the same soundcard, but they delete all drivers for U300 from lenovo site too)
    You can download it from here and upload into your googledrive space

    http://depositfiles.com/files/imcepe11f

    I was thinking you have Lenovo Energy Management in your google drive but is not mentioned here, if you need it or other driver I can ask for it in our italian forum
    Let me know in case

    Reply
  2. Romagnolo1973

     /  December 14, 2012

    Just a little warning, the CardReader driver (for windows 7) is not completly working for me, is impossible pass file from pc to sd. I have solved downloadin the right driver from realtek site here, choosing the model named RTS5139

    http://www.realtek.com.tw/Downloads/…&GetDown=false

    I suggest replece the 7 driver with this, i have trayed and it is working 100%

    Reply
  3. Romagnolo1973

     /  December 15, 2012

    I used to disable BT because I don’t use
    But BT Broadcom is correctly recognized from Win8 and in case, WindowsUpdate give you a new driver version when you update your pc, so is not a matter, is correctly detected and with last driver. But I’ve not use it so I can’t confirm is working 100%, but for sure Windows Broadcom Driver are better than old Lenovo Driver for 7

    Reply
  4. Vishal

     /  February 23, 2013

    I have lenovo z580 with win 7 home basic.I have to upgrade for win 8 but features like one key theatre ,multitouch drivers these working on win 8 or not??

    Reply
  5. amer

     /  May 20, 2013

    استخدم هذا الملف المرفق لتفعيل زر FN اذا كان لديك لابتوب لينوفو
    Use this file attachment button to activate FN key if you have to Lenovo Laptop

    http://www.mediafire.com/?7w2ii3mtz053ejv

    win8

    Reply
  6. no me funciona en windows 8,1. no me lo pesca el driver de audio. alguna sugerencia?

    Reply
  7. Hi guys, thanks for drivers but I need Wifi driver for my Atheros AR9285 because my wifi is very slow. Any ides ?
    Thanks

    Reply
      • I tried install driver for W7 but I have 50Mb/s internet and download on notebook is still 15Mb/s

      • I’m sorry. Have you seen this page?
        Unfortunately I don’t have this device so I don’t have a solution for your problem. It’s very strange that even cheaper wifi adapters have proper Windows 8/8.1 drivers but this Atheros device doesn’t. I hope that a new driver will arrive soon.

      • I hope too, because on my desktop I bought cheap wifi adapter and speed is really around 45Mb/s.

  8. Hawk Nguyen

     /  February 6, 2014

    I had tried the Energy Management driver and encounter a BSOD right away when I installed. I had to reinstall both my Windows 8.1 and Windows 7. So please check that driver again

    Reply
  9. Fernando

     /  October 29, 2014

    For those with the problem of Win 8 not recognizing the WLAN card, one solution is to set “NETWORK” first in the boot sequence in the BIOS.

    Reply
  1. Lenovo – No Official Windows 8 Support for S205 :( « Lenovo IdeaPad S205 Blog
  2. Lenovo S205 isn’t dead | Lenovo IdeaPad S205 Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

